Overlapping Hands

bb_overlapping_hands

This is a project that I do with younger kids, on 8 1/2″ x 11″ or 11″ x 17″ that I blew up on the bulletin board.  It took several months.  I’d ask kids and staff if I could trace their hands.  It turned out really well.  Plus, I’ve found that kids follow along with the progress, even if at first they seem uninterested. Original inspiration came from a site on the web for younger kids.  But it’s a common theme.  I will work with it again, for a more refined piece for the facility where I like.  The original instructions, were to have hands overlap, with some part each hand on top, some part of each hand underneath or supporting another.  This was a key element I would stress when working with kids in treatment, they we support each other and everyone has a time to shine.  After all, Many hands make light work.

Leave a Reply

